More muffins…

Sorry I haven’t been posting in a while! Life has gotten hectic at my house, thanks to our impending international move. As a byproduct of the move, my kitchen has been reduced down to the bare bones, so I won’t be cooking anything very elaborate anytime soon. Fortunately, we had a goodbye party last weekend which included a lot of food, which should make for some great entries in the coming weeks.

As I have been reduced to being a glorified nomad, I’ll try my best to post every other day, but I will be traveling a lot, so no promises!

*             *             *

Here’s another healthy muffin recipe that I’ve grown partial to.

It’s healthy, simple, and cheap. Too often, in this age of caloric excess, muffins have become cupcakes in disguise. At 166 calories a pop, and 2g of fat per muffin, these Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins are keepers.

I made a few modifications to the recipe, using the first commenter’s suggestions as a guide. I cut down the amount of oil by half, and added in a grated apple in order to keep the muffins moist. Alternatively, you could use applesauce or more apple and completely eliminate the oil if you want to be really hardcore.

I also added in some cinnamon and nutmeg to give these muffins a bit more flavour. The commenter also suggested adding ginger and vanilla. I’ll try that some time and report back.

Lastly, I added raisins to the muffins to make them a little heartier. With muffins and cookies, I find it a good idea to soak the raisins for about 15 minutes in some water so that they don’t dry out completely in the oven when you bake them.

If you’re fresh out of buttermilk (karnemelk), make it with a tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice to 1 cup of milk. You’ll have chunky milk in no time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

