Eating steak is friggin’ great!

It’s been a warm and relatively dry spring in the Kingdom of The Netherlands. That means the barbecue is back in business a bit earlier than usual. Being my father’s daughter, I have to say I have a love for red meat. High quality red meat, mind you. One of my favourite things to grill on the barbecue is steak. In Holland, however, it’s tough to find a nice tender piece of steak without having to sell your first child. That’s why I’m a big fan of the ‘kogelbiefstuk’, or rump steak in English. At around €12-13 a kilo, it’s probably one of the more affordable, widely-available cuts you can find. Don’t even get me started on the elusive T-bone.

In the past, I’ve been pretty bad at making steaks. They more or less always end up being overcooked, overspiced, or lacking moisture. Then I found this site. Trust the Australians to get steak right. These instructions have been such a blessing, that I’m almost able to ignore the fact the Australians implemented a pretty racist immigration policy until the mid 1970s. Almost. Oops, is that me digressing?

Anyway, I pretty much let the grill heat to about 300F or so, and then oil and salt and pepper the steaks. I put them in the center of the grill in direct heat for about a minute just so I can get those cool-looking grill marks on the steak, and sear it properly to lock in the juices. Then I turn my heat in the centre on low, the sides on high, and let the steak cook for about 4 minutes per side using indirect heat. The grill retains heat quite well, and so even with two burners on low, the internal temp still hovers around 300.  At about 3-4cm thick, the steaks come out medium-rare to medium-well, which I find is best for this particular cut, although you can cook it well done and still get good results.

Most of the info on that site is stuff I’ve picked up in the past, but there are certainly a few helpful tips. The most interesting one for me is the fact that you need to let the steaks rest in loosely-wrapped aluminum foil for about 5 minutes, so the internal juices can redistribute themselves a bit (who knew meat was that technical?). I used to try to make sure everyone was at the dinner table minutes before the steak were ready so they could go straight from the grill to the plate and be eaten hot. Now I know better!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

