Deviled eggs, revisited.

So I’ve made deviled eggs a couple times in the past few weeks since I first posted about them. The second time around, I thought I’d make them with quail eggs, for a nice twist. My cousin brought a ton (ok, maybe just a few kilos) of quail eggs from Cameroon, and so I decided I’d make them for an appetizer one day. It was probably the least enjoyable cooking experience I’ve had in a while.

Quail eggs have a high yolk-to-white ratio, meaning the egg white is super thin and fragile. Add to that a tough, tiny shell, and they are hell to peel. Even moreso, they are hell to work with once peeled, and it takes a lot of time and patience not to mangle them to bits.

The second time I made them was on Monday. They were really great, owing to the fact that for once, I actually had fresh chives, thyme and parsley in the house. The only thing I ended up substituting was white wine vinegar for sherry vinegar, but otherwise, they were tip top! They also gave me a chance to try out my new piping bag. I’m a long way from being a Cake Boss piping pro, but I’m trying.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

