M is for muffins….

Today I decided to make some muffins. We have a half empty box of All-Bran sitting in the cupboard that hasn’t seen much action since my dad left. I did a search on marthastewart.com for a recipe with bran in it, and I came across Oat Bran-Applesauce Mini Muffins. What attracted me to this particular recipe was that they were super healthy, with no added processed sugar in the original recipe.

Since I didn’t have any dates in the house, I used figs instead. I also had no vanilla… so out went the ‘no added sugar’ advantage, and in went the vanilla sugar. I tasted the batter at the very end before I put it in the oven, and it kind of tasted terrible. I like healthy, but I don’t like it to taste like crap. So I threw in 40ml of brown sugar to sweeten it up a bit. Muuuch better.

Other changes I made… I used half all-purpose flour and half whole-wheat flour, and since I didn’t have any flaxseed, I didn’t put in any flaxseed. I also added in about 1/3 cup of raisins. All my changes ended up bringing the total calorie count to 177kcals per muffin…. The original recipe was for 24 mini-muffins (I made 12 regular ones), and according to commenters, each muffin had only 50 calories in it, so I’ve almost doubled the caloric content. Oh well, at least I can still boast that the muffins are fat-free!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

