Some good things come out of cafeterias…

While I was in university busy putting on my freshman 30, cramming, and dealing with my existential crisis, I also spent most of my mealtimes eating at the school cafeterias,  run by Sodexho (now Sodexo). Most of the food was pretty shitty. Mass-produced, overcooked veggies, undercooked pizzas, over-oiled and underspiced everything. It was rare to have a meal that was well-executed, tasted good, and wasn’t entirely bad for you. Some things I saw in the cafeteria just plain freaked me out… like the big bag of uniform egg used to make our omelets. That said, there were a few good food ideas I picked up from there. One of them is the feta and spinach omelette. Feta and spinach omelettes on Sundays were worth the pain of getting up early after a late night of ‘studying’.

I’ve changed it up a bit and made the omelette a little richer to fit my diet plan, but you can add and subtract and substitute ingredients as you please, really. Here’s what I use most days:

25g ontbijtspek (Dutch breakfast bacon)

30g fresh spinach

15g sliced or chopped onion

30g feta cheese

2 eggs

1 tsp olive oil

Yum!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

