Marietta’s White Chocolate Macadamia Biscotti

I decided the other day that I wanted to try my hand at biscotti for the first time. I’ve only ever had it at Starbucks, and thought it was about time to try some that wasn’t mass-produced. My usual go-to sites for baking are marthastewart.com and allrecipes.com. Since I’m on a punishing, mostly carb-free diet, it didn’t really matter to me which kind of biscotti I made, so i polled my mom and sis, and white chocolate macadamia came out on top. I decided to go with “Marietta’s White Chocolate Macadamia Biscotti” from allrecipes.com.

The original recipe’s cooking time caused the biscotti to have a very soft texture, almost like a chocolate chip cookie. I was going for a more traditional, harder texture, somewhere between Melba toast and a cookie, so I ended up baking it on convection after slicing it for about 8 minutes. It came out just right: crisp on the outside and a bit cookie-like on the inside.

I have to confess: I did mess up a little bit on the recipe. It called for amaretto, which is an almond or peach-pit based liqueur. For some reason, I threw in some Triple Sec (orange-based liqueur) in its place , and of course didn’t realize my mistake until the second it was mixed into the rest of my batter. Damn it, haha. I made up for it by throwing in a bit of almond extract. It turned out just fine!

The only other adjustment I made was to use salted macadamia nuts instead of unsalted. More a matter of lack of supply as opposed to purposeful substitution. I tasted the nuts beforehand and found that they were lightly salted, so I just omitted the 1/2 teaspoon of salt and it turned out well balanced.

Marietta’s White Chocolate Macadamia Biscotti

By: BLUIIS
“A softer biscotti and a wonderful addition to your cookie platter.”

1 cup butter
1 1/2 cups sugar
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup amaretto liqueur
4 cups all-purpose flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/3 cups chopped macadamia nuts
1 1/3 cups white chocolate chips

Directions
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Grease a cookie sheet or line with parchment paper.
In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until fluffy. Beat in eggs, vanilla and amaretto. In a separate bowl mix flour, baking powder and salt. Stir flour mixture into butter mixture. Fold in nuts and white chocolate chips.
Divide dough into 4 equal parts. Place each 1/4 of dough on cookie sheet and form into logs about 14 inches long and 1 1/2 inches wide.
Bake 25 minutes in the preheated oven, until very lightly brown. Cool and cut diagonally into 1/2 inch slices. Arrange slices on baking sheet and continue baking 8 minutes, until golden brown.

  1. I like the look of your biscottis–they look yum ;] I also like how we both mess up with recipes. Do you ever ask yourself “what if?” As in these cookies are delicious, but what if I actually froze the dough beforehand before baking…It kills me sometimes.

      • siridoeskorea
      • April 29th, 2010

      🙂 Thank you! I’m going through a mental list of recipes and photos I want to put up here, and I’m realizing that for the most part, a lot of them went slightly wrong, haha! It’s a good thing Gordo’s not coming round for a visit….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

